4WD Trek - 24 February 2024

We began our trek at the Omakere Hall with over 100 4WD vehicles.  It was a sunny warm day and the train of vehicles spent the day travelling over coastal farms towards the south at Porangahau Beach. There were several stops along the way - the first at Omakere Hill where there was a spectacular vista (see photo).  The group stopped at Aramoana Beach where volunteers had prepared a super lunch. Moving on then via the beach flats to Blackhead where we began to climb once again to view the hills and coastline. Finally stopping at Porangahau Beach for a BBQ and refrshments. Sponsors played a big part too and we thank them.

Crowd at Porangahau Beach

Soaking up the afternoon sun

President Jane thanking everyone

Young Employee of the Year  - 8 November 2023

At our annual Young Employee of the Year award over 150 employers, employees, apprentice graduates, families and friends celebrated the best of CHB young workers and bosses.  This years Young Employee of the Year was Gagau Robert Stanley from Craigmore Horticulture - congratulations to the winner and all entrants.

In this image is the top 4 Young Employees - from left Emma Cameron, Fitzherbert Rowe (absent - represented here by Kirsty Kupa), Rhys Tamanui (Waipawa Butchery), Natalie Riddell (Veolia Water NZ) and Gagau Robert Stanley (winner - Craigmore Horticulture) 

Winner, Gagau Robert Stanley.  (Craigmore Horticulture) 

Highly Commended, Natalie Riddell. (Veolia Water NZ )

Highly Commended, Rhys Tamanui. (Waipawa Butchery)

CHB College Speeches - 31 July 2023

Judges were Doug Tate, Jenni Giblin and Tohu Seeds. The compares were Brenna Mackey and Tom Burne, both students from the college. 

The overall winner was Hannah Webster, for the second year running.

What a great job these speakers did. Well done.

The junior section was won by Sariah Taufa, second was Luke Madsen and third Bree Franklin. 

The intermediate section was won by Hannah Webster, second was Ramona Lively-Masters and third Zara Mackey. 

The senior section was won by Libby Burne, second was Veronica Mills and third Ordania Rani. 

Farm Clearance Auction Fundraiser - 26 May 2023

BBQ sausages and coffee was very popular

Auctioneer Wayne

Admin staff 

President Richard taking a rest

Our 80th Birthday Party - 20 March 2023

The cake made by Rubylicious

A number of Past Presidents attended and spoke

John Campbell ran the fining session - the night’s 80th birthday celebration fines produced $299 and the raffle raised $590, a club record according to Bruce.

8 November 2022 - 2022 Young Employee of the year

8 August 2022 was the annual College speeches.

Students, families and Rotarians - good crowd

Junior winner with one of the judges Lynn Marsh

Announcing the winners

President Richard with Hannah Webster - overall winner

Judges, President Richard and all of the winners

May 27 was change-over night

Richard Haldane receives the chain of office

Jane Hamilton is our new Vice President

President Dennis recaps his year

The Presidents Gold Sovereign Award went to Trevor Plunkett

On 22 November 2021 members met at the Arboretum for the annual working bee and BBQ.  There was a great turnout and a lot of was achieved.

2021 College Speech finalists

On the 9th August the Central Hawkes Bay College Speech Finals were held at the college with family, friends, students and rotary members in attendance. The quality of subject matter and presentation was exceptional and most worthy of our sponsorship. The judging panel consisted of Mrs. Catie Avery - Rotarian, Mr. Exham Wichman - CHB District Councillor and Mr. Lance Christiansen – Principal. The Junior winner was Vann Harley “True Confessions of a High Achiever” and the Senior winner was Isobel Lloyd “Beauty Standards – a personal poem”. Isobel also received the WE Simmons Cup for the best overall speaker. Special mention and thanks to Joy Kitto from CHB College for organising another memorable event in the districts calendar. 

President Dennis welcomes new member Wayne Thompson

Carol Pedersen is a new member

Past President Trevor presents incoming President Dennis with his pin